From Hopelessness to Worldwide Impacts – How I Conquered 2021

From Hopelessness to Worldwide Impacts – How I Conquered 2021

I started 2021 with a lack of direction and depression. By the end of 2021, I already made impacts I've never made in my lifetime. This is my story.

How it Started

Before I dive into all that happened to me in 2021, I would like to tell you a bit about my 2020, because the 2021 story started in 2020.

After graduating with a Bachelor's degree in Environmental Biology back in 2018, I started feeling something was wrong – the optimism I've always had about succeeding in the field started to wane.

I started looking for a skill to learn. And then coding came to my mind. I attempted to learn HTML in 2013 and 2019, all to no avail.

During the worldwide lockdown, I gave coding a chance again. For 8 months, I thought about nothing but web development with HTML, CSS, and JavaScript. If I was not coding in any of those 3 languages, then I was watching a YouTube video or reading on them.

The 2021 Story

Fast forward to 2021. I set out to remove "L" from "Learning", but out of nowhere, I started having issues. Depression set in, pressure from the distant family set in, and physical aberrations set in.

One of them was a kidney condition that came out of nowhere in late January 2021. I was told surgery would be needed, but out of nowhere again, I was healed miraculously.

I moved from problems to problems. I became broke and resorted to borrowing, but my brothers came through for me.

Let me not talk about how a sordid individual in my current city took my money and gave me a laptop that was not working back in March 2021. It slowed me down beyond my imagination.

I took a huge break from coding to allow myself to heal up totally. Taking that break was one of the best decisions I've ever taken.

I came back and took WebDev by storm. I started creating content on Twitter and blogged for 8 consecutive weeks on Hashnode and Dev.

Every week, I had a viral thread or article. I've always believed in my writing prowess since age 15 during my antepenultimate years in secondary [high] school.

I decided to take my writing to the next level by applying to write for freeCodeCamp – the best place to learn how to code for free.

After applying, freeCodeCamp said they typically get back in a week, but I got a positive response after 2 or 3 days. It was the best feeling in the world. Screenshot_20210514-224945.png

My tweet about getting accepted to write for freeCodeCamp went viral. Screenshot_20210515-202523.png

Publishing my first article for freeCodeCamp made me feel on top of the world. Screenshot_20210518-135514.png

Abigail Rennemeyer – the best editor in the world – was always there to make sure my articles appear in the best way for the world.

A few weeks later, I met Jason Alba – an entrepreneur and Pluralsight tutor. Absolutely one of the most brilliant individuals I've ever engaged with.

While talking with Jason, I told him all I wanted is to become a better writer and get my first tech job. Jason told me I need to do one thing if I want to become a better writer - write every day. He also gave me insights into what a lot of people in the WebDev ecosystem like to read. Screenshot_20210709-172814~3.png

I couldn't write every day because I was still depressed at that time, but I was able to follow Jason's second advice – write what people like to read.

I wrote about CSS tricks. Everyone liked it, including Quincy Larson – the teacher who founded freeCodeCamp. Quincy reached out to me and said he would like to meet me.

On meeting with Quincy and the best editor in the world, I thought it was just to talk, but that was because, at that time, I hadn't realized Quincy and Abbey won't "just talk". Screenshot_20210727-213644~2.png

Quincy offered me the chance to be a staff author with freeCodeCamp. I thought I was dreaming. I embraced the opportunity as I do to my pillow every night. I didn't even think it twice.

Meeting the whole of the freeCodeCamp team members a week later was another best feeling – best feeling upon best feeling. I've never been in a place where people are so welcoming.

After I started working for freeCodeCamp, I was able to follow Jason Alba's first advice – write every day to become a better writer.

It’s been 5 months of working as a staff author with freeCodeCamp. When it comes to being treated like a human, how my voice is heard, and how I work with a very flexible schedule, I CAN'T ASK FOR MORE at this moment.

If you're facing any issue in life, as long as you stand against the odds and keep working towards a better life for yourself, you can always get over it because nothing negative last forever. Nature rewards those who work hard. Let's not even talk about those who trust in God and work hard at the same time.

Thank you, thank you, thank you.

I would like to thank all those who came through for me during my trying times and when I needed someone to talk to.

My brothers and mother never abandoned me.

Jason Alba even thanked me for scheduling a time with him when I was supposed to be the one to thank him. Thank you, Jason.

Big shout-out to Buka and Seunbayo – the 2 Zuri-i4G mentors who were there for me to offer a piece of valuable advice when I needed it.

Abbey, Quincy, and the whole freeCodeCamp team members already have a special place in my heart. I can't stop giving back to freeCodeCamp.

To everyone who has been reading my threads and articles, I can't thank you enough.

You can check out my articles on my freeCodeCamp author page. I already have 80+ of them. I only started writing for freeCodeCamp in May. I'm currently learning copywriting and content marketing to add some more juice to my articles.

If you want to learn more about me, check out my Twitter page. I'm always around to tweet and engage.

E seun 😊